SMOOTHIES!

Hey guys, Happy New Year! Welcome back to the Broadshortsย  Personal Training Blog. We have been a bit MIA recently, which we apologise for ๐Ÿ˜ฆ life happened, we’ve been in Tasmania, Christmas and New Year was going on. It was just full on and I kinda felt like I needed a bit of a break from working to come back this year refreshed ๐Ÿ™‚

So TODAY I started back into normal food and routine, which is a really good thing, as I was starting to feel a bit bloated.

To kick start me back into routine, I decided to prepare some chicken meatballs and some greens (I’ve been missing greens haha) for dinner and breakfasts for the next two or three days.

I also bought some rice crackers to have with vegemite and a slice of cheese (Split amongst 4 crackers ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Another snack I bought was some Greek Yoghurt. It’s great protein, Great for your gut health (probiotics) and I find it quite sweet, so I don’t crave as much naughty food.

Last but not least I have been having smoothies for lunch recently. I love smoothies! But I do think you need to make sure you are doing smoothies smart! If you are looking for FAT LOSS or WEIGHTLOSS. You should ensure you stick to having smoothies Post workout and watch how much fruit you put in there.

smoothie.png

Why do I say this? SO many people come in and tell me how much fruit they put in their smoothies (and think they’re doing a good thing) but 2 to 3+ fruits in a smoothie then having other fruit as snacks during the day, may be too much sugar for your body every single day!

What do I suggest? I only haveย one piece of fruit usually each day. At the moment, that is in a smoothie.

I have been using coconut water, Happy Way Protein Powder and Frozen Berries for my smoothies recently. It tastes amazing, keeps me full and is timed generally after a workout.

smoothie #2.png

You don’t HAVE to have protein powders. But I use a protein powder now, as I was struggling to snack regularly during the day and the protein powder helped me add in the extra snack. I ensured I used a natural powder, with no nasties in it. There are a few like this on the market. It is probably best for you to do your own research and decide whether you want to use these or not.

If I didn’t struggle to snack in the afternoons, I would eat REAL food ๐Ÿ™‚

smoothie#3.png

So remember, when making smoothies for weight loss:

-1-2 pieces of fruit (TOTAL)

-Use water or coconut water

-If you are not using protein powder, use a few spoonfuls of Greek Yoghurt to give you some more protein in thereย ๐Ÿ™‚

-You can add in oats (sparingly) or some chia seeds.

-Keep it simple ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay, that’s it from me today! Any smoothie suggestions, let me know in comments below.

Remember to follow us on Insta to see workouts and food ideas between blogs.

Peace out Peeps XO

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

