Don’t DIET!

Hi again, welcome to the 10 weeks before Christmas rush to look fabulous. (I’m doing a slight freak out too!) summer clothes shopping EEEK! It will all be okay though 🙂

I have been talking to a lot of women in the gym the last week and a half and have noticed a really disturbing pattern. SO many of us jump on a strict diet or clean eating regime around this time of year, but what surprises me is that many of these diets have a lack of balance and everyone seems so miserable about eating this way.

 

SO why are we doing it?

 

Well, I guess we have all just been told that this is how we have to eat and train to get any results. Let’s cut all the carbs, eat no calories, feel miserable and hungry and train 6 times a week.

I also thought you had to do all these things. But I have found a more balanced, sustainable approach.

I used to get so caught up in all the different ways that you could train and eat. I used to do NO cardio because a few other people I used to work with told me I just needed to lift weights and I’d be fine (which actually does work for some women-usually those who are tall and find it hard to put on fat and muscle). It didn’t really work that well for me. I would get SO HUNGRY and I would eat so much food and I would undo the hard work I had put in because I had eaten so much!

 

I cut all carbs for a while and just ate meat and green vegetables, 5 meals a day. My goodness! It was so boring! I did not look forward to eating my meals and by the end of the week. I literally ate anything and everything due to having a lack of balance.

 

Another thing I find interesting, is speaking to mum’s who have this idea in their head that they need to train and eat how they did before kids. It’s so unrealistic! After kids, your body changes, your routine changes, your priorities change. Expecting to go back to how you were eating and training pre children is usually an unrealistic goal. The results you are after can still be achieved if the food you are eating is balanced and you are training 3 times a week.

 

So what do I do now?

–          I train about 3 times a week! I aim to do one Weights session, one High Intensity Session and one cardio session (a run, a bike ride, swimming, group fitness class)

–          I also try and get a couple of walks in throughout the week. They are relaxing, burn calories and make you feel good. Honestly! Get amongst it!

–          I don’t cut carbs or feel guilty about food anymore. I eat fruit, Oats and rice crackers on a daily basis!  If I go out for breakfast, I’ll eat some bread! It’s about balancing things out. If I’ve had bread for breakky, I might not have oats at lunch time. Another example, I was out for dinner last Tuesday and knew that I had a weekend full of social occasions with lots of yummy food. As much as I wanted a meal with chips or a pizza on Tuesday night, I opted for the beef salad, so that I could enjoy myself on the weekend.

 

Any questions, comments or queries, feel free to email me or leave them here. I will get back to you as soon as I can

Leave a Reply

