SUPPLEMENTS!

What supplements should I take? A question that I get asked so often, and to be honest, it drives me crazy! I’ll be honest, I went through a phase where my training and nutrition was shit and I purchased supplements like fat burners and protein shakes, because I thought I would get my results quicker. The outcome, no results because I still had didn’t have my training and nutrition down pat!

fruit and veg

It took a while to learn (and everyone around you can give you the tools, but unless YOU use them, they don’t work!) but I couldn’t rely on taking fat burners and protein shakes or whatever because I wasn’t CONSISTENT in what I was eating or how I was training. I would crash diet, for only a week at a time and get frustrated that ‘nothing worked’ and then go on a food bender for a few days, until I felt horrible and would go on a crazy strict diet again. That cycle went on for years! I felt horrible, my weight was not where I wanted it to be and I was cranky and frustrated!

Eventually, through more experience and doing nutrition courses and stuff, I learnt that small changes needed to occur, I needed to make those changes HABITS and see this whole eating healthy thing as an actual lifestyle and not just a short term 8, 10, 12 week challenges that would be over and see me being strict and looking forward to the end of the challenge to just eat everything.

So back to the initial question, what supplements should I take? My answer, for normal, everyday people who train 3-5 times a week and eat a balanced diet, NONE! If you are only eating 3 meals a day and only 1 meal of those contains veggies…… Up it to 5 small meals a day, eat more veggies, meat and fruit and get your nutrients from REAL FOOD! Why would you want to put stuff made in a factory artificially instead of getting your nutrients from actual food? I have heard people say before ‘oh I can’t eat this fruit or veg because of the sugar contents so I’ll just have this tablet that has those same nutrients in it!’ It just makes no sense!

Vitamins

Occasionally supplements can be a good thing, you might be low in certain vitamins and your body doesn’t absorb nutrients the way it should. Or you need extra Vitamin C in Winter time, or you can’t stomach breakfast so a protein shake in the morning is better than nothing. Elite Athletes take supplements because they train 5 million hours a week and could not possibly replenish themselves by just eating food alone.

For normal everyday people, who are thinking about spending hundreds of dollars (they often cost lots of money) on supplements. Keep a food diary for a day (be honest about what you actually eat!) and work out whether you could substitute your muesli bar or piece of cake as a snack to some fruit or veggie sticks with some chobani dip (they have amazing flavours and they’re high protein), Greek Yoghurt or some tuna and salad with some crackers. Do that, and I can guarantee you will feel better, start dropping fat and save a lot of money in the process.

COOL FOOD IDEA

RissolesBeetroot coleslawSPinach

Yesterday in Coles I found Turkey Rissoles- Yes they aren’t COMPLETELY ‘clean’ But they are quick and easy and pretty good compared to some of the other stuff out there.

I bought some spinach in a bag, also a bag of coleslaw. Mix a bit of both of those together SMALL AMOUNT of mayo, 2 Rissoles broken up over the top. Food is ready! Fast, Easy, Effective. Love it!

Follow us on Insta for workouts/Other food Ideas

Facebook ‘Broadshorts Personal Training’ For our current Specials this week.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

