How I feel about Clean Treats….

Hey guys. Another week has flown by! I can’t believe we’re in June ALREADY!!! 6 months into the year, 12 weeks away from SPRING!! I hope you’re getting your butts into gear and starting to cut back on the pasta, chocolate and wine and replacing it with Veggies, Fruit and Training.

Speaking of food. My uh….. topic today is about ‘Clean Treats!’ I had a convo with a client this week about the hype of Clean Treats and how people-particularly those ones trying to be ‘good’ and lose weight eat these so called healthy foods and can’t understand why they can’t lose weight.

I know what you’re thinking. ‘She’s full ofΒ it!’ Well, I know this because I used to make ‘Healthy’ Protein balls full of dried fruit, cacao powder and nuts eat 2 a day and struggle to see why I wouldn’t lose weight. The answer…..

Yes these clean treats are non processed, they are made of pretty healthy, natural ingredients. BUT!!!!!!! Those bad boys are calorie dense! If you are refuelling after a monster (I mean a ridiculously massive)Β workout and have no other time to eat, or trying to put weight on, or trying to get some nutrients in after being sick then those clean treats are okay. Any other time, maybe just have a piece of fruit, or some Greek yoghurt or…. Just eat the damn cake! If it’s a one off, then why not?

So what do I mean when I say ‘Clean Treats’? Here are some examples:

What I say to all this? Just eat the damn Pancakes, Banana Bread, Peanut Butter Cups or Chocolate. Remember the 80-20 Rule! Eat well 80% of the time and Eat Naughty stuff 20% of the time. It works! It keeps you on track and you’ll probably end up being less stressed about food! I can almost guarantee that if you add up the sugar and calories in these vs the same amount of the normal version, it will be about the same. Are the nutrients better yes. But if you are eating well 80% of the time, you are probably getting the nutrients you need anyway! Just because something is labelled clean doesn’t mean you should eat it.

***If you have allergies, then it’s a bit different, you probably do need to substitute some of the traditional ingredients.

Some people are going to COMPLETELY disagree with this! That’s Okay πŸ™‚

Just remember that eating for HEALTH and eating for WEIGHTLOSS are two completely different things.

Just Before I Sign Off for another week, Here is a great workout to tackle next time you’re at the gym:

workout-Blog

Leave a Reply

