What Does Eating Healthy Look Like?

I hear from a lot of people that eating healthy is expensive or too time consuming.

Healthy Eating is defined as having a balanced diet, eating the right amounts from the five different food groups. Do you necessarily have to be consuming Almond Meal or Salmon (and only salmon) or Buckwheat or Cacao or ONLY buy stuff from the Health Food Aisle? Absolutely not! If you are steering away from high processed, unhealthy, sugary, fatty food; then you are on the right track.

I speak to a lot of people who immediately relate Eating Healthy with being time consuming, expensive and ‘weird food’ but it doesn’t have to be that way.

When I’m on a mission to eat Healthy I try and do a bigger food shop at the start of the week so I have food already in the fridge ready to go! I tend to go for fruit and veggies that are in season, lean mince and some form of chicken.

My Weekly Shopping List:

  • Frozen Mixed Veggies
  • Greek Yoghurt
  • Lean Beef or Turkey Mince
  • Crumbed Chicken or Roast Chicken
  • Taco Seasoning
  • Frozen Berries
  • Bananas
  • Oats or Muesli
  • Instant Coffee- Not bought every week!
  • Capsicum
  • Red Onion
  • Broccoli
  • Eggs
  • Rice Cakes
  • Mushrooms
  • Grated Light Cheese
  • Lean Bacon
  • Tomato
  • Carrots
  • Hummus
  • Lettuce Mix

 

MY TYPICAL DAY OF FOOD:

BREAKFAST:

Black Coffee

2 scrambled Eggs, Sprinkle of Cheese, Mushrooms, Onion, Capsicum, Broccoli, Tomato and Bacon

Screenshot_2016-04-25-16-50-35.png

 

Screenshot_2016-04-25-17-00-52.png

SNACK:

Carrots & Hummus

Screenshot_2016-04-25-16-59-49.png

LUNCH:

Black Coffee, Greek Yoghurt, Berries or banana, Muesli or Oats

Screenshot_2016-04-25-16-55-51.png

SNACK:

Rice Cakes x4

Screenshot_2016-04-25-16-57-55 (1).png

DINNER:

Taco Mince with Salad or Mixed Veggies.

Screenshot_2016-04-25-16-52-43.png

 

TIPS

  • Sometimes I eat what I ate for dinner for breakfast, it’s much easier if you don’t have time to prep eggs and it is the better option instead of eating just carbs for breakfast. If you eat carbs at breakky, you may crave carbs all day.

 

  • Frozen Veggies are the better option if you find you are not eating your fresh veggies fast enough. It’s a great way to avoid waste and save your money.

 

  • I love preparing roast meat because you get to chuck it in the oven and walk off! You don’t need oil for the meat to cook either. Just add herbs and spices and go.

 

  • Don’t cut out food groups. I used to not eat carbs, but I found I used to want to binge out a lot on the weekend. I added in some carbs and found I didn’t binge as much. I don’t eat many carbs. I only really eat Oats or Muesli or sometimes some rice or a piece of bread. I aim to have no more 2 serves of carbs a day. This suits my weight loss and toning goals!

 

  • I don’t drink much milk, as my body doesn’t tend to break it down too well and I get cramps. Yoghurt and cheese in small amounts are better. I have read that your body doesn’t struggle to break them down as much due to how those products are made.

 

  • I prep my meat usually so it lasts a couple of days, then I prep my salad or veggies just before eating.

 

  • Eating small amounts and often keeps me full and not hungry at all during the day.

 

  • I eat Fruit, yoghurt and muesli in the middle of the day because it prevents me from craving sugar about 3pm.

 

  • If I’m trying to be healthy but want a sugar fix during the week, I usually end up eating a Quest Bar. *** I don’t eat them every day! I don’t recommend eating them everyday either***

As you can see the above food options aren’t made up of ‘weird’ food, nor is it expensive. I don’t calorie count and I don’t cut out food groups. I eat a balanced diet and stick to this structure most of the week. Then on the weekends I tend to relax a little and order what I want if I go out for dinner with family or Friends. I don’t feel restricted or stressed about my food choices.

If you have any comments, tips or questions, please feel free to comment below

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Does Eating Healthy Look Like?

  1. Narelle says:

    Hi Gemma.
    In addition to all your awesome food ideas, can i contribute the following?
    As a mum of 2 mornings are a rush and often i find myself grabbing a banana on the way out the door for breakfast. Not great. My cheat brekky of choice is the following;
    1/2 cup oats or rice flakes for a gluten free option, 1/2 cup of milk (i use soy) and half a cup of berries. I prep this the night before in a soup cup and put it in the fridge. In the morning i microwave it for a minute and a half and you’re good to go. I often add nuts for protein and shredded coconut just for fun. Much healthier than cereal and inexpensive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

